Subscribe to Leighton Village news by email

Leighton (Tre’llai) is a small village near Welshpool in Montgomeryshire. It is set around the Leighton Farm Estate which is the best example of a Victorian model farm in Wales.

Community Council

Forden with Leighton and Trelystan Community Council is the first tier of local government responding to the needs of the local communities of Forden, Leighton and Trelystan. Ten councillors are elected for a term of four years and the contact details of the current councillors are on the Community Council notice boards in each area.

The Community Council is mainly funded by an annual precept which is included as part of your Council Tax, the individual amount per household being calculated by the councillors setting an annual budget.

Some of the funds help to support the following – all of which are available for use by members of all communities:

  • Forden Community Centre
  • Leighton Village Hall
  • Children’s Playgrounds in Forden and Leighton
  • Forden Cemetery
  • Forden Sports Field

Other activities carried out by the Community Council are:

  • Consultees on planning applications
  • Raising highway matters with Powys County Council
  • Any other matters brought to councillors’ attention

Effectively the Community Council is there to represent you and your communities, respond to any issues and offer assistance where possible.

Trelystan ward

Name Address Telephone (01938)

  • Carol Ann Alexander Parklands, Leighton 580395
  • George Derek Clare Back Lodge, Leighton 580525
  • William Glyn Jones Cwm Duggan, Trelystan, Leighton 580477

Forden ward

Name Address Telephone (01938)

  • Neil Bennett Malvern, Kingswood, Forden 580333
  • Linda Veronica Corfield Ackley Farm, Forden 580289
  • Timothy Edward Davies Ty Nantcribba, Forden 580031
  • Florence Delyth Jones Woodside, Forden 580371
  • Leslie Arthur Morris Red House, Forden 580218
  • Andrew Graham McNicholas Stoneycroft, Forden 580213
  • Mark Williams Pen-y-Derw, Grove Lane, Forden 580335

Tim Davies is Chair and Linda Corfield is Vice Chair.

County Councillor Mrs Linda Corfield, Ackley Farm, Forden, Welshpool, SY21 8JJ (01938 580289) represents Forden, Cilcewydd, Leighton and Trelystan on Powys County Council